The Jelly Fish Teru Teru Bozu!

Kuragehime (a.k.a Jellyfish Princess) is the title of a short animated series that I had seen. It’s a very odd series cut short but I loved the nutty characters. I was inspired when I saw a lil Teru Teru Bozu Jellyfish doll that was made in one episode. They’re so goofy and cute looking: A Teru teru bozu is a handmade amulet doll that the farmer’s in japan would hang outside to bring good weather and ward off rain. Bozu means “buddhist monk” but in modern japanese slang stands for bald-headed. Teru describes “sunshine.”
A bunch of versions of the jellyfish dolls were made in the episode and you can see them stacked together in the previous post I made about our current projects.

I decided to make my own version of the lil’ plush doll. I used clear beads that have a prism sheen for the tentacles and kept to the look of the first bozu doll they made in the episode. I used two buttons for the eyes though instead of sewing in eyes.:

[Edited on Feb. 21, 2011]

Teru Bozu Gift I made for Mary.
 xo, Jenn
Leave a Reply

